Officially known as Rüdesheim am Rhein, Germany, this town historically is known for its wine. With three castles, a bustling commercial corridor and beautiful views; your cruise is not complete without stopping here.
The Drosselgasse is a lane in the heart of Rudesheim’s old town full of beautifully decorated restaurants. Live band entertainment, brass instruments and dance music play all day and all night during the summer in the many wine taverns and open-air garden taverns along the 144-metre-long narrow cobblestone pedestrian street. Built in the 15th century, the Drosselgasse was for boat owners to move items from the river to homes in the town. Since it is Rüdesheim’s most famous attraction it is almost always crowded with tourists.
Hotel Lindenwirt is a traditional wine hotel in the heart of old Rüdesheim, with popular wine taverns and its own wine cellar. The Lindenwirt restaurant has an open air wine garden and offers delicious Riesling wines from the Rheingau and typical German specialties as roast pork knuckle, wild boar ham from the regional woods and the popular “Schnitzel”.
Hotel Lindenwirt is placed centrally at the famous Drosselgasse, and offers eighty rooms. In addition, they also offer six “special” wine barrel hotel rooms.
In the early 1970s, 6 big oak barrels, which were used for wine storage in the wine cellar originally, were converted to small bed rooms. Today that wine is stored in the inner courtyard.
The average capacity of the wine barrel bedrooms is six thousand liters. Inside is now two, six foot long beds, which are built into the barrels curvature. Also every barrel room features a small “sitting room” with a TV; and a comfortable bathroom with a shower.
No phone, instead the wake-up call comes by a knocking on the door. The wine barrels are named like famous Rheingauer vineyards: Winkler Hasensprung, Oestricher Lenchen, Rüdesheimer Katerloch, Hallgartener Jungfer, Rüdesheimer Rosengarten und Martinsthaler Wildsau. Chose your favorite vineyard.
Brömserburg Castle was once situated directly on the banks of the Rhine, Brömserburg Castle was owned by the Archbishops of Mainz from the beginning of the 10th to the beginning of the 19th century. During the 12th century they converted the old fortress into a castle residence. With its vaulted ceilings and walls of more than two metres thick, it successfully provided resistance against any attack. One exception was the destruction of the castle’s southeastern part, which was destroyed in 1640 by the Duke of Longueville. The castle was inhabited up until 1937, before being acquired by Rüdesheim’s town council in 1941. Today, the castle houses the extensive collections of Rheingau’s wine museum.
Located just up the hill from Brömserburg Castle, is Boosenburg Castle. All that remains of the original castle is the fortified tower. The building’s architecture indicates that it originates from the 9th century. At about 125 feet tall, the tower is the town’s tallest building. The castle consists of high, Romanesque keep and thirty foot wide moat. In 1838 all buildings around the keep were torn down and the new Neo-Gothic manor was built in 1872. Since the entire estate is now privately owned, access by the general public is not permitted.
Ehrenfels Castle is a ruined castle above the Rhine Gorge near town. It is located on the steep eastern bank of the river amid extended vineyards. The grape variety Ehrenfelser is named after the castle. It was built in the early 1200s at the behest of the Archbishop of Mainz as a defensive work against attacks by Elector Palatine Henry V, who’s desire it was to cut down the archbishop’s reach. Mainz erected a customs post and used the castle to control shipping on the Rhine. The castle was aided by the Mouse Tower below on the river. Heavily damaged in war between 1618 and 1648, the castle was finally devastated by French troops during the 1689 Siege of Mainz.
The Mouse Tower is a stone tower on a small island in the Rhine. The ruin can be reached from Rüdesheim via a hiking trail through the vineyards. The interior however can only be visited in guided tours by prior appointment.